2014 Distinguished Service Award

The CS @ ILLINOIS Distinguished Service Award honors alumni or faculty members who have demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment to the department and its students, faculty, and alumni through their support and service.  Among the 2014 recipients were former CS @ ILLINOIS department heads and academic directors.

Nominations for the Distinguished Service Award are solicited annually from alumni, faculty, and advisory board members. Nominate an alumnus today at my.cs.illinois.edu/submit.

Alan M. Braverman
Founder, The Giant Pixel Corporation

Alan M. Braverman (BS CS ’96) is a serial entrepreneur who has been building startups in Silicon Valley since the mid-1990s. He shares this expertise with his fellow alumni as an Advisory Board Member of the University of Illinois Silicon Valley Round Table, a speaker in the Illini Center West Luncheon Series, and through his startup studio, The Giant Pixel Corporation.

Roy H. Campbell
Sohaib and Sara Abbasi Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

A distinguished researcher and prolific mentor with contributions to concurrent programming, system software, security, and ubiquitous computing, Roy H. Campbell served as director of graduate admission and advancement for CS @ ILLINOIS from 2007 to 2013. He is currently chair of the University of Illinois Faculty Senate, and his campus leadership also includes chairing recruiting for the Grainger Engineering Breakthroughs Big Data Initiative and running the Illinois Cyber Security Scholars Program.

C. William Gear
President Emeritus, NEC Research Institute; Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois

C. William Gear (MS Math ’57, PhD Math ’60) served as department head of CS @ ILLINOISfrom 1985 to 1990. A pioneer in numerical analysis and scientific computing, Gear is a leader in computer science education and industrial research. He created a seminal method for solving stiff ordinary differential equations on digital computers and wrote a landmark program for the automatic integration of ordinary differential equations. As Head, he oversaw the third addition to the Digital Computing Lab and founded the CS Alumni News.

Michael T. Heath
Fulton Watson Copp Chair Emeritus, University of Illinois

Michael T. Heath was the longtime director of the Computational Science and Engineering (CSE) program, the most successful program of its kind, and led the Center for Simulation of Advanced Rockets (CSAR). He is also an internationally recognized educator known for his effective communication and inspirational teaching. Heath served as department head of CS @ ILLINOIS from 2007 to 2010 while continuing to direct CSE and CSAR, helping to bring high-profile projects like the UPCRC and the Cloud Computing Testbed to Illinois.

Brigid A. Johnson
Senior Technical Product Manager, Amazon

An inspiration to students and faculty alike, Brigid A. Johnson (BS CS ’08) has previously returned to campus on multiple occasions, including as a CS @ ILLINOIS Engineer in Residence and as Keynote Speaker for the Women in Computer Science Annual Banquet, sharing about her experiences in industry and in pursuing her MBA.

Duncan Lawrie
Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois

An academic leader in high-performance computing, Duncan Lawrie (MS CS ’69, PhD ’73) contributed to the design of the ILLIAC IV, Burroughs Scientific Processor, and Cedar. He helped shape computing’s direction through service on numerous policy committees and as IEEE Computer Society president. As head of CS @ ILLINOIS from 1990 to 1996, he helped to strengthen alumni relations, to introduce Senior Projects, and to launch our first webpage.

Daniel A. Reed
Vice President for Research and Economic Development, The University of Iowa

Daniel A. Reed tirelessly promotes the value of computing and computational science at both the academic and national policy levels. He has created multiple large-scale HPC systems and tools to support scientific research. As head of CS @ ILLINOIS from 1996 to 2001, he helped launch the online MCS degree; oversaw increases in gifts, endowments, and research funding; and initiated planning for the Siebel Center.

Marc Snir
Director, Mathematics and Computer Science, Argonne National Lab; Michael Faiman and Saburo Muroga Professor, University of Illinois

Marc Snir has made significant research contributions to the development, theory, and standardization of high-performance parallel computing through his work on the Message Passing Interface and IBM’s SP scalable parallel system. As department head from 2001 to 2007, he managed the transition into the Siebel Center and the department’s subsequent expansion. Later, he served as first director of the Illinois Informatics Institute, as chief software architect for Blue Waters, and as co-director of UPCRC.

Page last updated: 2015