Alumni Awards

Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards

The Department of Computer Science annually recognizes alumni and faculty members who have made professional, technical, educational, or service contributions that brings distinction to themselves, the department, and the university. We welcome all alumni and friends to be a part of this tradition: nominate someone you know worthy of this honor, and come back to campus to celebrate with each new class.

Congratulations to our 2018 honorees:

  • Early Career Achievement Alumni Award: Vilas Dhar
  • Distinguished Achievement Alumni Award: Doug MacGregor
  • Early Career Educator Alumni Award: Eric Gilbert, Karthik Pattabiraman
  • Distinguished Educator Alumni Award: Ron Cytron, Won Kim, David Lassner
  • Distinguished Service Alumni Award: Ross Erlebacher
  • Distinguished Achievement Memorial Award: Gene Golub
  • Scott H. Fisher Computer Science Teaching Award: Craig Zilles
  • C.W. Gear Outstanding Junior Faculty Award: Ranjitha Kumar
  • David J. Kuck Outstanding Thesis Awards: Matthew Sinclair (PhD), Dimitrios Skarlatos (MS)

Learn more about 2018's recipients here.

The CS Awards activities are held in conjunction with the Celebration of Excellence Student Awards Program and the Women in Computer Science Alumni & Student Dinner, making it an ideal time to visit campus. 

See Past Recipients

The recipients of the 2017 Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards. Seated (from left): Rajesh Karmani, Nikil Dutt, James E. Smith, Aditya Parameswaran, Marianne Winslett, Kishor Trivedi, Andrei Ştefănescu, and Svetlana Lazebnik. Standing (from left): Isaac J. Hall, Richard M. Schell, Steven Ko, Drina C. Yue, Interim CS Department Head Vikram Adve, Jill Zmaczynski, Xiang Ren, and Scott Fisher.